21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: Main Kickstart Forum: What is your favorite food or recipe?
Created on: 10/28/13 05:17 PM Views: 2757 Replies: 15
What is your favorite food or recipe?
Posted Monday, October 28, 2013 at 5:17 PM

I am still beginning and finding what I like to eat. I have had a few things that were so plain and dry, yuk! Mostly I find I am missing oil! This was a big surprise for me. I can do fine without sugar, meat, eggs, even cheese which is tough, but no oil to roast veggies etc makes them difficult to eat. If I crave anything it is usually chips. I have been making soups which are a lot tastier and easy way for me to get tons of veggies Smile but I need to find some other ways too.

One food I found at my local store, is a muesli without sugar or oil! and I love it with almond milk. I live in a smallish town, I guess it is perspective lol. I moved from California several years ago and when I talked about this being a small town(20,000), my coworkers would mention growing up in towns of 1000-5000 population lol. Anyway, no Whole Foods except in 2 towns in my state 4 hours away! Not even Eugene- a college town known for its bike paths and health orientation!

I am also lucky to have Dave's Killer bread, and I wanted to make hummus, but my store has no Tahini! When I asked I was told the company (MaraNatha) shut it down 3rd year in a row, and it has been unavailable for 6 months! I need to make it without, but I haven't yet. Do you have a favorite sandwich?