21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: Main Kickstart Forum: kosher gelatin
Created on: 03/31/13 04:53 AM Views: 616 Replies: 1
kosher gelatin
Posted Sunday, March 31, 2013 at 4:53 AM

Hi again, So sorry for all the recent posts - it's just that this means so much to me, ( the kickstart ) and I really want to stay educated and make sure I do the best I can.

I have heard some varying things regarding gelatin. If it says kosher, I hear this can mean from fish, or from vegan sources like agar-agar, guar gum, something like this. How does one know? Is it best to just avoid altogether ANY product that lists gelatin, even as kosher?

RE: kosher gelatin
Posted Sunday, March 31, 2013 at 10:52 AM

If a product is using a vegan version of gelatin, it would probably tell you. Otherwise, I would assume gelatin to always be from animal sources.

Susan Levin, MS, RD
PCRM Director of Nutrition Education


New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page
Subscription Options
Subscription options are available after you log in.

There are 342 active user sessions right now.

home | contact us | about us | support us | full disclaimer | privacy policy

PCRM Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine
5100 Wisconsin Ave., N.W., Ste. 400, Washington, DC 20016
Phone: 202-686-2210 | E-mail: pcrm@pcrm.org