21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: Main Kickstart Forum: New - question about malabsorption and fiber
Created on: 02/18/13 01:08 AM Views: 1874 Replies: 8
New - question about malabsorption and fiber
Posted Monday, February 18, 2013 at 1:08 AM

Hi there! I'm new to the vegan diet and eating low fat. I've been doing lots of research to make sure I get all the good stuff my body needs. So far everything is going very smoothly with the switch I just had a question: When does fiber cross the line into too much fiber?

I keep track of what I eat every day on myfitnesspal and so far I'm going over what they reccomend (20g) by at least 10g each day. I have looked a bit around the web but I can't really find a straight answer. From what I can tell malabsorption from fiber is not a very scary risk but it is possible.

I'm sorry if I'm being a bit paranoid! In doing research for the vegan diet I found SO many people so heavily against it, swearing that I'll slowly kill myself over the years and get sick. I don't think it's true that a vegan diet, done right, will hurt me at all. In fact I'm getting much more of what my body needs now than I ever was as a lacto/ovo vegetarian and before that a meat eater (my gallbladder was removed so a low fat diet actually improves what I can absorb, I think). I just have a very, very anxious brain and it won't shut up about the fiber! Confused

I do realize that a lot of dietary things aren't super black and white and perhaps the reason I can't seem to find a straight answer is because there isn't one. I guess I can always go see my doctor to find out, I was just hoping some of you fine folks might know!

RE: New - question about malabsorption and fiber
Posted Monday, February 18, 2013 at 8:53 AM

I'm confused about who's recommending 20g of fiber daily as a max. I'd thought that on this way of eating, 40g was considered a good number to shoot for daily.

Jennifer