RE: Casein & soy cheeses
Posted Tuesday, January 19, 2010 at 8:43 AM
Yes, some of the cheeses are not vegan--they're designed to be lactose-free (the milk sugar), not completely free of milk products.
Unfortunately casein is the protein in milk that The China Study comes down on the hardest, and according to Dr. Barnard and others is also responsible for cheese's addictive qualities. When casein is broken down in the body, casomorphins are produced--an opioid similar to morphine, meant to facilitate the bonding of a calf to its mother. Powerful stuff! It's why cheese (where casein is concentrated) is often so difficult to give up!
Here are some brands of vegan cheese:
Follow Your Heart, all flavors
Daiya, all flavors
Teese, all flavors
Galaxy, *some* products. They are clearly marked vegan. Here is a list from their website: http://www.galaxyfoods.com/Products/VeganCheese/
Galaxy also makes a vegan parmesan-like topping that is called Vegan Topping, but for some reason it's not on that page.
But one of my favorite things to learn as a vegan cook has been how to make homemade nut, bean, and tofu cheeses. The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook is a great place to start.
Also remember that even vegan cheeses should be used sparingly, since they can be high in fat.