21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: Main Kickstart Forum: New - nervous...
Created on: 01/16/13 10:47 PM Views: 1221 Replies: 10
New - nervous...
Posted Wednesday, January 16, 2013 at 10:47 PM

Hi Everyone!
I am brand new in the Vegan department. Though having fed my family vegetarian for years when my children were younger, It was always at least dairy inclusive. My family managed to give up sugar, for about three years now. The focus being based off of low carb articles and mainly supposedly lean meat and steamed veggies. Being the strictest about my diet in the family (mom hereWink I started eventually having a lot of symptoms ranging from fibromyalgia to migraines and extensive unexplained bruising under my skin.
Finally, recently I had an age related issue with one if my eyes! This though in my early forties!
When doing research on the vegan diet I realized the animal proteins I was consuming might be the problem. I quit them all and haven't cheated at all for about three weeks.
My teenage son has lost ten lbs almost overnight, and is excited to continue eating this way.
I have not had a migraine at all since going off the meat and dairy. Many things have actually cleared up or diminished pain wise.

My biggest fear is that I will gain weight. I feel lighter within myself, but at the same time a little like maybe I have gained a few lbs. (my scale needs batteries) Practically starving on just lean chicken, nuts, seeds and vegetables kept me sort of stable weight wise though not thin.
Eating so much food suddenly ( no sugar, almost no fat and little refined grain) I feel nervous like I am going to gain weight doing this. It's only been three weeks so I am waiting to see what happens. I am constantly hungry now (new feeling for me) and have much better focus, energy and clarity of senses.