21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: Main Kickstart Forum: The only vegan I know...
Created on: 05/01/13 03:53 PM Views: 1434 Replies: 4
The only vegan I know...
Posted Wednesday, May 1, 2013 at 3:53 PM

I'm going vegan again on May 3rd!
I'm the only vegan I know.
My boyfriend thinks food is something that comes from a box.
I'm a nutrition consultant and still cant seem to get through to him.

HELP! I need Ideas.
I live at his house 75% of the time and I need to be able to feed myself as well as stay away from what he is "cooking".

RE: The only vegan I know...
Posted Friday, May 3, 2013 at 5:05 PM

I can relate! I'm vegan, have been for years and years, married to a non vegan. I prep his lunch and dinner and plan it carefully so he eats well, but he does eat 1-2 three to four ounce portions of meat daily. He likes cheese but I don't buy much food as we have a small farm, so he understands and does not complain, at least not to me. I use coconut milk on cereal or to bake for him.

I don't much care what people think of what I eat. I'm a health and nutrition teacher in a high school (retiring in June!) and for many years have taught the SAD nutrition as its my job. My students and fellow faculty know I'm plant based and accept it, but I get the eye rolls and "what do you eat for protein" question, and have handouts for those interested. I explain its a life choice, they can eat however they want, but I love my diet. I am aware that the curriculum is not plant based so we learn all choices!

It is so very hard to work with teens as their diet is typically horrible! I can't control what they do!

Good luck, and keep it up!

Posted Monday, May 6, 2013 at 8:54 AM