21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: April 2012 Kickstart Forum: Questions about soy and iron....
Created on: 04/01/12 12:37 PM Views: 1429 Replies: 4
Questions about soy and iron....
Posted Sunday, April 1, 2012 at 12:37 PM

Hello

I am new to Kickstart. I read the book a while back but did not participate...I was just not ready. Now I am diving in feet first Surprised Two things I worry about by going plant-based. The first is soy. I have read and been watching on the news that it is not good for you, especially for your thyroid. I have hyperthyroidism, when my thyroid gives off too much hormone, and speeds everything up. I have been on meds for this for a while and it is more or less regulated, but I don't want to eat anything that could cause problems. One thing I love is my lattes. I don't mind soy milk but I don't want to switch to soy lattes if it is not good to do so.

As for iron, I am very iron-deficient...when they tested my iron levels last summer, I was at 9, and normal is about 13. I take iron supplements, but of course I want to make sure that I am getting enough iron from my food. I have read that plant iron is more difficult to absorb by the body than animal iron.

Thoughts on these?

Robin

RE: Questions about soy and iron....
Posted Sunday, April 1, 2012 at 2:14 PM

Hi Robin. I encourage you to read this factsheet: http://www.pcrm.org/health/health-topics/soy-and-your-health

In short, soy is safe.

As for hyperthyroidism, here's some information as it relates to diet:

Hyperthyroidism: Nutritional Considerations