21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: Main Kickstart Forum: question about calories, and multi-vitamin?
Created on: 11/20/13 01:05 AM Views: 837 Replies: 7
question about calories, and multi-vitamin?
Posted Wednesday, November 20, 2013 at 1:05 AM

When transitioning to a vegan diet, should we be concerned about getting vitamins/minerals? I'm still new to this, starting late for this month / mid-November, but hoping this will 'warm' me up for December. Do most of you feel you get the adequate vitamins from your diet, or do you supplement at all?

Also, I just finished reading Veganist, in this book the author mentions that as a vegan, one need not worry or obsess over calories. I was wondering if most of you followed this way of thinking when on the kickstart.

It would be a relief not to worry about the calorie obsession that I feel is so present in society today!

RE: question about calories, and multi-vitamin?
Posted Wednesday, November 20, 2013 at 1:55 AM

Vitamin B12 is essential since you won't be eating animal products. I also take Vitamin D since I live in Paris, France where the sun doesn't shine much.

Shocked

Edited 11/20/13 2:00 AM

Very Happy

Edited 11/20/13 1:59 AM
Posted Wednesday, November 20, 2013 at 6:28 AM

You'll definitely want to take a B12 supplement no matter what. You can read about that here: http://www.pcrm.org/pdfs/health/faq_b12.pdf.

Anything else should be as needed, per a professional's recommendation or if you know from lab work you are deficient (such as with vitamin D mentioned above). It's common for most people to be low in vitamin D, especially for those of us who work indoors and were crazy enough to move away from the equator!