21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: April 2012 Kickstart Forum: CHOCOLATE!
Created on: 04/02/12 05:41 PM Views: 1910 Replies: 12
CHOCOLATE!
Posted Monday, April 2, 2012 at 5:41 PM

Help! The recipes are great and i feel good and light and strong and I'm loving it . . . EXCEPT I need chocolate!
What do you do about eating chocolate??
Please give me some advice! Ideas? Recipes? Products?

RE: CHOCOLATE!
Posted Monday, April 2, 2012 at 6:45 PM

Im not sure where you live but WholeFoods makes vegan choloate muffins, vegan chocolate chip cookies, and vegan chocolate donuts that are amazing and totally satisfy my cravings. My friends and family dont even know they're vegan when they eat them. YUMMY!

Posted Monday, April 2, 2012 at 7:28 PM

There are vegan chocolate chips in the Oatmeal Banana Bites Smile I'm not sure about this, because I'm new to the kickstart, but I'm guessing a square or two of dark chocolate would be ok for chocolate emergencies. Just look at the label to make sure there is no milk - strangely enough Green & Black's 70% chocolate does have milk in it. Many brands don't, such as Chocolove and Endangered Species(dark chocolate only). Whole Foods even has dark chocolate Easter bunnies Very Happy

Mary

Posted Monday, April 2, 2012 at 7:35 PM

Also I have heard that a very good dessert is to freeze some bananas, and blend them in a VitaMix (or other high-power blender) with unsweetened cocoa powder - you might have to add a bit of almond milk, or thaw the bananas just a bit. I haven't tried it yet, but I did buy some unsweetened cocoa and freeze the bananas.

Posted Monday, April 2, 2012 at 7:51 PM

Silk and Blue diamond both make a chocolate "milk". My fave frozen treat is frozen dark cherries with a bit of the chocolate silk and blend... yum!

Also I don't know where you live but Trader Joe's has pound plus bars that have no dairy.