21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: September 2012 Kickstart Forum: Hypothyroid and Soy
Created on: 08/30/12 10:36 AM Views: 2014 Replies: 9
Hypothyroid and Soy
Posted Thursday, August 30, 2012 at 10:36 AM

Hello! I'm new to this program and desperate to find something that will help me get healthy and lose weight. A friend of mine suggested I try the 21 day vegan program. I was diagnosed with Hypothyroid (Hassimoto's) a couple of years ago. Soy is a big no no from what I've read. Is that true? and if so, is there another meatless alternative for me?
Thank you so much for your inputs.
Kim

RE: Hypothyroid and Soy
Posted Thursday, August 30, 2012 at 10:51 AM

Kadaki wrote:

Hello! I'm new to this program and desperate to find something that will help me get healthy and lose weight. A friend of mine suggested I try the 21 day vegan program. I was diagnosed with Hypothyroid (Hassimoto's) a couple of years ago. Soy is a big no no from what I've read. Is that true? and if so, is there another meatless alternative for me?
Thank you so much for your inputs.
Kim

There are TONS of options that aren't soy. Beans, lentils, quinoa are all proteins that aren't soy. There's also a wheat-based meat alternative called seitan - but it tends to be salty and expensive. Much easier/better to just go with beans etc.

I've been (mostly) vegan since I did the first kickstart a few years ago and I don't eat tofu or drink soy milk or do any of that 'bulk' soy because I don't tolerate it well (there's enough 'background' soy in the food chain that big chunks are just too much for me YMMV).

--Deb R

Posted Thursday, August 30, 2012 at 10:54 AM

HI,
Most of my favorite foods don't include soy. You won't have any trouble finding delicious food that will meet all your needs.
I only eat tofu once every couple of weeks or so.. it would be just as easy to leave it out.

Edited 08/30/12 10:54 AM