21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: Main Kickstart Forum: Pressure cooker cookbook
Created on: 01/12/14 12:46 PM Views: 2579 Replies: 18
Instant Pot questions
Posted Sunday, January 12, 2014 at 12:46 PM

Hi all,
I am finally going to get an Instant Pot and have three questions:

First, any recommendations or advice regarding whether new IP or last year's model. (As a vegan, I obviously won't be using the yogurt feature on the new one.)

And, any recommendations for a vegan pressure cooker cookbook? I make a lot of soups, chili, etc. and plan to use the IP primarily for this and for cooking beans. I've never used a pressure cooker before.

Finally, any advice for adapting my stovetop soup recipes to the pressure cooker?

Thanks in advance for any and all help!
Marianne

Edited 01/12/14 12:48 PM
RE: Pressure cooker cookbook
Posted Sunday, January 12, 2014 at 1:11 PM

I have two vegan pressure cooker cookbooks.
http://www.amazon.com/New-Fast-Food-Pressure-MInutes/dp/0976708515/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1389550013&sr=1-1&keywords=veggie+queen
and
http://www.amazon.com/Great-Vegetarian-Cooking-Under-Pressure-ebook/dp/B00BHEJ4G4/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1389550044&sr=1-3&keywords=lorna+sass
I love them both and use them a lot.

I have the older model, have had it about a year so can't speak to the difference. I wouldn't use the yogurt feature, but there are some that make vegan yogurts that might find it a benefit.

There's an Instant Pot Plant food group on Facebook, there may be some people there that can give you a better explanation of the difference.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/160489884083690/

Hope that helps.

Vikki ~

Posted Sunday, January 12, 2014 at 5:32 PM

One suggestion about the Instant Pot, get the larger size. I have the smaller one and am always wishing I had the larger size because I make a lot of soups and cook a lot of beans.