21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: Main Kickstart Forum: vegan in a dairy-loving world.
Created on: 03/08/14 05:09 PM Views: 790 Replies: 5
vegan in a dairy-loving world.
Posted Saturday, March 8, 2014 at 5:09 PM

What do you guys do when you're out and about, and someone messes up the order, or friends/family think that you can have something when it still contains non-vegan ingredients?

For example...being a full time student, i often study at cafes. i order a drink with soy, and when i taste it, i know it's NOT soy. It's a very small amount of some kind of milk...but I KNOW it's not soy. turns out, they used heavy whipping cream in my coffee instead of soy! (what in heck is all this cream? the difference between half-half, heavy, light...and some of my classmates even tell me it's not milk, therefore it's not realy 'dairy.' isn't that kind of cheating lol? a little confusing...anyhow.

i don't know how to react in this situation. i would want to say to them, 'i don't consume dairy, please make this correctly the next time with the soy milk' but then i'd worry..is this pretentious of me? after all, they work so hard to make coffee for the customers and i don't want to add even more stress to their day.

most people would say, not to take it so seriously and let it go, or oh, you can be vegan with just a few exceptions but to me personally, i believe in really doing something to the best extent, so i don't want to be a 'sometimes' vegan or a 'vegan except a, b, c' kind of person. because...where do you draw the line then? it all becomes confusing if you're like 'well i have cheese, but not yogurt. but i'm still vegan besides that. oh and sometimes i eat ice cream. and sometimes i...' see how that is dangerous!

RE: vegan in a dairy-loving world.
Posted Saturday, March 8, 2014 at 5:16 PM