RE: Sugar Substitute
Posted Thursday, January 5, 2012 at 8:50 AM
Honey is not technically vegan. Most commercial sugar is also not technically vegan because it is often processed using (animal) bone char. In both cases, it's an individual choice as to whether to include it into an overall vegan way of eating.
Agave, maple syrup and stevia are plant based.
I guess that's the easiest way to determine if something is actually vegan - is it some part of a plant (root, leaf, sap, fruit, seed) or was it made by animals (honey, milk, eggs, etc)? That's why at our house we generally refer to 'plant based eating' rather than 'vegan'.