21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: January 2012 Kickstart Forum: How are you feeling?
Created on: 01/05/12 05:52 AM Views: 4097 Replies: 19
How are you feeling?
Posted Thursday, January 5, 2012 at 5:52 AM

Hello!
This is my first time on this forum (and first time doing the 21 day kickstart).
I wanted to start a thread here to chat with others about how you're feeling as the kickstart goes along. It's my fourth day now (I'm in Australia, so we're a day aheadWink and I am finally starting to maybe turn a corner and not feel awful. That is, the first several days I found really tough! Not in the temptation sense, but just in not feeling "full" in the way I've grown accustomed to. Not feeling heavy with junk food, I felt this constant craving for fattening stuff.

Anyone else experiencing this? I felt a bit like I imagine an addict might feel, jonesing for some toxic stuff, like ice cream or a big steak.
I'm also currently breastfeeding so I know that getting enough calories and nutrition is crucial, but I definitely think I have been (I hope!), and I refuse to count calories. I'm just eating well balanced meals and eating when I'm hungry.
So yeah, finally today I didn't feel headachey and miserable. I felt a bit lighter and more energetic, a bit more satisfied after my vegan meals.

How's everyone else feeling?
A bit about my road-to-vegan story...
I did go vegan once before this, last year for a few months. I felt GREAT, finally lost some weight and had my spark back. Prior to that I also spent many years as a vegetarian in my teens and twenties.