21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: January 2012 Kickstart Forum: Kind of a funny question...
Created on: 01/06/12 03:41 AM Views: 3355 Replies: 14
Kind of a funny question...
Posted Friday, January 6, 2012 at 3:41 AM

Eating a plant based diet is entirely new to me and my body is probably trying to adjust to all the fiber I am eating but I notice I have really bad gas! I was hoping it would go away after a few days, I have been using Beano but it doesn't really seem to help. I'm a nurse so I am able to joke around with my coworkers since we are used to dealing with normal bodily functions but this is beyond normal and embarrassing at times! Embarassed
I asked one of the doctors I work with about it and he said the gas should subside on it's own and it will just take some time. But, I expect you all would know more about this subject than most doctors since you have lived through it! Has anyone else had issues like this when they first began eating Vegan? Will it really go away?

RE: Kind of a funny question...
Posted Friday, January 6, 2012 at 4:03 AM

For once I agree with the doctor you spoke to. In my expereince yes the gas does decrease once your body adjusts to the new way of eating usually after a couple of weeks. Although I have to say I still have times of lots of gas if I eat a lot of beans (everything in moderation). The good part is that the gas doesnt smell anything near as bad as it did when I was eating meat. Unless you are loud, many people wouldnt even notice as basically there is no smell to vegan gas Embarassed

Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food - Hippocrates.

Edited 01/06/12 4:07 AM
Posted Friday, January 6, 2012 at 5:29 AM

Ditto! It will go away as long as you keep eating the same way. If you go back and forth, off and on, then it will return each time you go back to the high fiber, high veggie way of eating.

Vikki ~