21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: September 2012 Kickstart Forum: vegan baby?
Created on: 09/21/12 02:54 PM Views: 1086 Replies: 5
vegan baby?
Posted Friday, September 21, 2012 at 2:54 PM

I am new to the vegan diet and would like for my baby to have my diet as well. His pediatrician not only told me to not do such thing but started counseling me as far as why I shouldn't become one and what vitamins for me to take. That was a little frustrating and discouraging because I do believe that it is doable plus if he starts at an early time in life he'd be more likely to make it a lifestyle. Any advice on the matter?

RE: vegan baby?
Posted Friday, September 21, 2012 at 3:22 PM

Check the Resources section on the Kickstart website here - there are resources for pregnancy right through infancy and childhood and all. And, after all, a newborn (up to at least a year) is mainly nursing and maybe moving to some pureed type veggies, fruits, and grains (rice cereal mixed with breast milk for example). That's vegan (hmm is nursing vegan since it's mammal milk? :winkSmile

Actually, my son (now a rapidly growing 14 year old) was pretty much vegetarian as a wee tot - he would eat cheese and yogurt but no meat until he was somewhere over 5 years old. Yes, you will probably need to supplement B12 in one way or another (nutritional yeast is a vegan source of B12 but many vegans supplement B12 just in case). And, you'll definitely need to eat a LOT as a nursing mom - but there are resources available to help you make sure you're getting what you need to feed your little one.

--DebR

Posted Friday, September 21, 2012 at 3:52 PM

I am vegan, plant based diet 100%, but, my hubby is not...would love to raise my toddler 100% vegan, but, at this time, I could only said he is 80%