RE: Dark Chocolate
Posted Saturday, January 2, 2010 at 7:19 AM
Lucky us! Dark chocolate is best anyway.
Quick ways to tell: 1. allergen list, usually at the end of ingredients. It must specify milk ingredients if there are any. (The "may contain" and "shared equipment or facility" statements are just liability hedging to cover accidental trace amounts, in case of severe allergies.) 2. some chocolate brands display the vegan symbol on the label--it's a circle with a V in it.
Most companies seem to do both milk chocolate and dairy-free dark so these quick checks are handy in chocolate emergencies.