21-Day Vegan Kickstart

New Topic Reply Subscription Options   Previous Page  Page: 1   Previous Page

Forums: January 2012 Kickstart Forum: Daily Servings of 4 Food Groups
Created on: 01/19/12 02:46 PM Views: 1391 Replies: 6
Daily Servings of 4 Food Groups
Posted Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 2:46 PM

I started the 21 day "kickstart" a week before. Therefore, I have been vegan for almost 4 weeks. My energy has tripled and I feel wonderful while having no cravings. However, I am still uncertain how many daily servings of fruit, veggies, grain and beans to have. I am afraid I may be eating either too much or too little of one food group. Additionally, what constitutes a "serving"? 1/2 c or 1 c, etc. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Razz

Eileen Midman

RE: Daily Servings of 4 Food Groups
Posted Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 3:55 PM

I'm not a doctor, but I would like to tell you the best advise I have heard on this question, especially since I have heard it several places, from different reputable sources, including here.

If you are avoiding animal products, processed and refined food and fat, you can eat AS MUCH AS YOU LIKE of the four food groups you mention. There is no need to measure servings. You do need to pay attention to a balance which includes all four groups, but if you emphasize one or two groups for a few days, and another for the following few days because that is just how your tastes have been, you will be fine.

This only works if you are on a plant based, whole foods, low fat routine. You just can't eat too much, isn't that wonderful! Beware of even "moderate use of" processed foods, refined white things of all sorts and overdoing the fats. This includes cups and cups of nuts or processed "vegan" foods.

- madeline

madeline yakimchuk
Director: MEET IRENE - An Unlikely Vegan
GRYPHON media productions

Posted Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 4:22 PM

ehmidman wrote: