Posted Tuesday, January 5, 2010 at 1:17 PM
Honey, and to a lesser extent yeast flakes are a hot-button for some vegans.
I find it an interesting discussion myself. I chose a vegan lifestyle for religious purposes, and moved my wife to it for health reasons.
Honey is different from milk or eggs in that it is essentially a plant product that was crafted by an animal. However bees do die in the process of harvesting honey.
I avoid honey at home, but if if a vegetarian friend offers me a bran muffin and I taste honey in it, I don't flip out.
Honey, by most definitions, is not vegan. You can stay on the safe side of everyone's "vegan rules" by using agave nectar instead.